Includes free 24-hour accessible studio space, rehearsal space, community, mentorships

Offers annual Open Studios event open to the public

Each Resident paired with a ‘mentor’ who provides feedback, support, and connections to other individuals and resources


Charlotte Street’s Studio Residency Program aims to support creative production, artistic experimentation and collaboration, professional development, and close connection with fellow studio residents and artists in our community fulfilling our organization’s mission to challenge, nurture, and empower artists of exceptional vision.

The Studio Residency provides free studio space—accessible 24-hours—rehearsal space, professional support and development, annual open studios event, exhibition and performance opportunities, opportunity to work with guest curators, promotion, and mentorships.

Visual artists, writers, and performing artists (composers/musicians, choreographers/dancers, theatre artists) are eligible for the year-long residencies, with terms beginning each September. Applications for the Studio Residency Program are accepted each spring. Check back for upcoming application deadlines and eligibility information.


studio residency program facility

6th Floor of Town Pavilion
1100 Walnut St, Kansas City, MO 64106

la esquina gallery

1000 W 25th Street, KCMO 64108

Current Residents (2019-20)

Visual Artists

Iliann Alvarez (Kansas City, MO)

Nazanin Amiri Meers (Lawrence, KS)

Craig Auge (Kansas City, MO)

JE Baker (Kansas City, MO)

Michelle Chan (Overland Park, KS)

Drea DiCarlo (Kansas City, MO)

Bo Hubbard (Kansas City, MO)

Rachel Hubbard (Kansas City, MO)

Mary Clara Hutchison (Kansas City, MO)

Leon Jones (Kansas City, MO)

Bailey Mastin (Olathe, KS)

Andrew Ordonez (Kansas City, MO)

Kiki Serna (Kansas City, MO)

Allison Sheldon (Lawrence, KS)

Will Toney (Raytown, MO)

Benjamin Todd Wills (Lawrence, KS)


Vanessa Aricco (Kansas City, MO)

CJ Charbonneau (Kansas City, MO)

Derek Graf (Kansas City, MO)

Jackie Hedeman (Lawrence, KS)

Kevin Kilroy (Kansas City, MO)

Michelle Tyrene Johnson (Kansas City, KS)    

Performing Artists

Seth Davis (Liberty, MO)

Tristian Griffin (Raymore, MO)       

Kota Hayton (Kansas City, MO)

Melinda Hedgecorth (Liberty, MO)             

KC Public Theatre (Kansas City, MO)

Kyle Mullins (Kansas City, MO)

Kaia Nutting (Kansas City, MO)

Carrie Anne Wallen (Kansas City, MO)

Dylan Ward (Roeland Park, KS)

Jeramy Zimmerman (Kansas City, MO)